Relevant State Departments of Insurance Contact Info

Texas Department of Insurance –
P.O. Box 149104
Austin, Texas 78714-9104

Email the Division of Insurance
Visit Website

Summary of the State:

    • Support
    • Oppose
    • Neutral
    • TBA
    • Summary Verbiage

TYPE OF LICENSE (LIFE SETTLEMENT/VIATICAL SETTLEMENT): LIFE SETTLEMENT

WHAT DOES THE STATE DEFINE AS CONTESTABLE?: 2 YEARS

WHAT IS THE REQUIRED HOLDING PERIOD?: 2 YEARS. See: Tex. Ins. Code § 1111A.014(n).

WHEN DOES LICENSE NEED TO BE RENEWED?: N/A

IS BROKER COMPENSATION DISCLOSURE REQUIRED?: YES. See: Tex. Ins. Code § 1111A.012(a)(8).

IS THERE A MINIMUM PAYMENT REQUIREMENT?: NO

WHEN DOES THE MONEY NEED TO BE IN ESCROW?: Tex. Ins. Code § 1111A.014(j). Not later than the third business day after the date the provider receives from the owner the documents to effect the transfer of the insurance policy, the provider shall pay the proceeds of the settlement into an escrow or trust account managed by a trustee or escrow agent in a state or federally chartered financial institution pending acknowledgement of the transfer by the issuer of the policy. The trustee or escrow agent shall transfer to the owner the proceeds due to the owner not later than the third business day after the date the trustee or escrow officer receives from the insurer acknowledgment of the transfer of the insurance policy.

IS THERE A NOTICE REQUIREMENT TO THE INSURED AFTER THE SALE?: NO

IS THERE A NOTICE REQUIREMENT TO THE CARRIER BEFORE/AFTER THE SALE?: YES. Tex. Ins. Code § 1111A.014(g). Not later than the 20th day after the date that an owner executes the life settlement contract, the provider shall give written notice to the insurer that issued that insurance policy that the policy has become subject to a life settlement contract. The notice shall be accompanied by the documents required by Section 1111A.013(c).

WHAT IS THE RESCISSION PERIOD?: Tex. Ins. Code § 1111A.014(i). A life settlement contract entered into in this state must provide that the owner may rescind the contract on or before 15 days after the date the contract is executed by all parties to the contract. Rescission, if exercised by the owner, is effective only if notice of the rescission is given and the owner repays all proceeds and any premiums, loans, and loan interest paid on account of the provider within the rescission period. If the insured dies during the rescission period, the contract is rescinded subject to repayment by the owner or the owner’s estate of all proceeds and any premiums, loans, and loan interest to the provider.

IS THERE A VOC REQUIREMENT (OWN/STATE/NAIC FORM)?: YES – OWN – State Approved. Tex. Ins. Code § 1111A.014(b).

Stay Informed of Industry News

Latest Blogs

10/13/2021

Combating Inflation with Life Settlement Earnings

Everything is getting more expensive these days. Gas prices are higher, food prices are higher, used car prices are higher—it seems like nothing right now…

Read More
10/06/2021

How Did Insurance Policy Owners Earn $848 Million in 2020?

It’s true—according to “The Life Settlements Report” released by The Deal, 3,241 people sold their life insurance policies in 2020 for a combined total of…

Read More
07/20/2021

Working With Life Settlement Professionals

Read More
06/09/2021

How to Help Your Client Choose a Life Settlement Provider

Many life insurance policy owners may wonder where to start when pursuing a life settlement provider. Selling a life insurance policy is an important decision…

Read More