Relevant State Departments of Insurance Contact Info
Arkansas Department of Commerce
Arkansas Insurance Department
1 Commerce Way, Bldg 4, Suite 502
Little Rock, Arkansas 72202-2087
Summary of the State:
- Summary Verbiage
TYPE OF LICENSE LIFE SETTLEMENT
WHAT DOES THE STATE DEFINE AS CONTESTABLE?: 2 YEARS
WHAT IS THE REQUIRED HOLDING PERIOD?: 2 YEARS. See: A.C.A. 23-81-811(n).
WHEN DOES LICENSE NEED TO BE RENEWED?: NO INFORMATION
IS BROKER COMPENSATION DISCLOSURE REQUIRED?: YES. See: A.C.A. 23-81-809(a)(8).
IS THERE A MINIMUM PAYMENT REQUIREMENT?: YES. 054-00-CARR-069(9). Standards for evaluation of reasonable
In order to assure that viators receive a reasonable return for viaticating an insurance policy, the following shall be
Insured’s Life Expectancy (Minimum Percentage Of Face Value Less Outstanding Loan Received by Viator)
Less than 6 months (80%)
At least 6 but less than 12 months (70%)
At least 12 but less than 18 months (65%)
At least 18 but less than 24 months (60%)
At least 24 but less than 30 months (50%)
Thirty months or more No minimum
This percentage may be reduced by 5% for viaticating a policy written by an insurer rated less than the highest 4
categories by A.M. Best. or comparable rating by another rating agency.
WHEN DOES THE MONEY NEED TO BE IN ESCROW?: A.C.A. 23-81-811(j). (1) Within three (3) business days after receipt
from the owner of documents to effect the transfer of the insurance policy, the provider shall pay the proceeds of the
settlement to an escrow or trust account managed by a trustee or escrow agent in a state or federally chartered
financial institution pending acknowledgement of the transfer by the issuer of the policy.
(2) The trustee or escrow agent shall transfer the proceeds due to the owner within three (3) business days of
acknowledgement of the transfer from the insurer.
IS THERE A NOTICE REQUIREMENT TO THE INSURED AFTER THE SALE?: NO
IS THERE A NOTICE REQUIREMENT TO THE CARRIER BEFORE/AFTER THE SALE?: A.C.A. 23-81-811(g). (1) Within twenty
(20) days after an owner executes the life settlement contract, the provider shall give written notice to the insurer that
issued that insurance policy that the policy has become subject to a life settlement contract.
(2) The notice shall be accompanied by the documents required by § 23-81-810(a)(2).
WHAT IS THE RESCISSION PERIOD?: A.C.A. 23-81-811(i). (1) All life settlement contracts entered into in this state shall
provide that the owner may rescind the contract on or before fifteen (15) days after the date it is executed by all parties
to the life settlement contract.
IS THERE A VOC REQUIREMENT (OWN/STATE/NAIC FORM)?: YES – OWN – A.C.A. 23-81-811(b)(2). The request for
verification of coverage shall be made on a form approved by the Insurance Commissioner.
Consumers were paid over $750 Million by LISA Members for the sale of their unwanted life insurance policies
On May 3, the Life Insurance Settlement Association (LISA) released findings from its 2021 Annual Market Data Collection Survey. The data collected represents summary closing…
The Evolution of Regulations that have Benefited the Consumer
The life settlement industry was born in 1911 when Supreme Court Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr. and his fellow justices ruled that life insurance is…
Combating Inflation with Life Settlement Earnings
Everything is getting more expensive these days. Gas prices are higher, food prices are higher, used car prices are higher—it seems like nothing right now…
How Did Insurance Policy Owners Earn $848 Million in 2020?
It’s true—according to “The Life Settlements Report” released by The Deal, 3,241 people sold their life insurance policies in 2020 for a combined total of…